“Experiment Upon My Words”

In Alma chapter 32 we are challenged to exercise our faith, or to exercise even a desire to believe in order to know that the word is true.

27 But behold, if ye will awake and arouse your faculties, even to an experiment upon my words, and exercise a particle of faith, yea, even if ye can no more than desire to believe, let this desire work in you, even until ye believe in a manner that ye can give place for a portion of my words.

33 And now, behold, because ye have tried the experiment, and planted the seed, and it swelleth and sprouteth, and beginneth to grow, ye must needs know that the seed is good.

So here’s the experiment. I’m exercising my faith and reading the Book of Mormon again, but this time I’m studying it, and taking notes, and writing thoughts. And I’m excited. I’m excited to see how my faith increases and how my testimony builds. I’m excited to see how the Lord will guide me through this experiment and how I will learn and grow.


“The Book of Mormon was written for us today. God is the author of the book. It is a record of a fallen people, compiled by inspired men for our blessing today. Those people never had the book—it was meant for us. Mormon, the ancient prophet after whom the book is named, abridged centuries of records. God, who knows the end from the beginning, told him what to include in his abridgment that we would need for our day.” – Ezra Taft Benson

Leave a Reply

